The Mercies – Sevenoaks Bookshop

Venue: Sevenoaks Bookshop Date: Wednesday 26th of February 2020 Time: 12:30 PM

147 High Street
Sevenoaks

TN13 1XJ

We’re very excited to have Kiran Millwood Hargrave talking about The Mercies, the first adult novel by the award-winning children’s author.

On Christmas Eve, 1617, the sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardø is thrown into a reckless storm. As Maren Magnusdatter watches, forty fishermen, including her father and brother, are lost to the waves, the menfolk of Vardø wiped out in an instant. Now the women must fend for themselves. Inspired by the real events of the Vardø storm and the 1621 witch trials, The Mercies is a story about how suspicion can twist its way through a community, and a love that may prove as dangerous as it is powerful.

Perfect for dark winter nights and for fans of Burial Rites and The Miniaturist.

Ticket price redeemable against the price of The Mercies (£14.99).

‘A gripping novel . . . Beautiful and chilling’ – Madeline Miller, author of Circe

‘The Mercies took my breath away’ – Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl With a Pearl Earring.